Ladakh Holidays List 2023

Join Telegram Group

The General Administration Department, Union Territory of Ladakh has declared the list of Public Holidays, Local Holidays, Restricted Holidays and Bank Holidays of Ladakh for the Calendar Year 2023.

Mr. Ajeet Kumar Sahu, IAS, Commissioner/Secretary, General Administration Department issued the notification for this dated 26/12/2022 vide Notification No. 388-LA(GAD) of 2022 by order of Lt. Governor, Ladakh.

In this article, you will get the complete detail about the declared holidays in Ladakh for the year 2023. Read the article till the end for getting the complete detail.

Ladakh Public Holidays List 2023

The holidays listed below shall be observed as Public Holidays in the Government Offices, Educational Institutions of the Union Territory of Ladakh during the calendar year 2023.

Sl. No. Name of the Holidays Date Day
1 Republic Day 26 January 2023 Thursday
2 Holi 08 March 2023 Wednesday
3 Nauroz* 21 March 2023 Tuesday
4 Birthday of Dr. B. R. Ambedkar & Mahavir Jayanti 14 April 2023 Friday
5 *Eid-ul-Fitr 22 April 2023 Saturday
6 Buddha Purnima 05 May 2023 Friday
7 *Eid-ul-Azha 29 June 2023 Thursday
8 *Ashoora 29 July 2023 Saturday
9 Independence Day 15 August 2023 Tuesday
10 *Eid-i-Milad-ul-Nabi 28 September 2023 Thursday
11 Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday 02 October 2023 Monday
12 Dussehra 24 October 2023 Tuesday
13 Diwali 12 November 2023 Sunday
14 Guru Nanak Dev Ji’s Birthday 27 November 2023 Monday
15 Losar 13 December 2023 Wednesday
16 Christmas Day 25 December 2023 Monday

Note: All the *Muslim holidays are subject to change depending on the appearance of the moon.

Ladakh Local Holidays List 2023

Sl. No. Name of the Holidays Date Day
1 Mela Dosmochey (Leh District & Zanskar Sub-division only) 18 February 2023 Saturday
2 Hemis Tsechu (Leh District Only) 28 June 2023 Wednesday
3 Eid-e-Ghadeer (Kargil District Only) 06 July 2023 Thursday
4 Chehlum (Youm-e-Arbaeen) (Kargil District Only) 05 September 2023 Tuesday

Note: all the Muslim* holidays are subject to change depending on the appearance of the moon.

Ladakh Restricted Holidays List 2023

Each employee will be allowed to avail of any two holidays to be chosen by him/her out of the list of Restricted Holidays below.

Sl. No. Name of the Holidays Date Day
1 Guru Govind Singh Ji’s Birthday 05 January 2023 Thursday
2 Lohri 13 January 2023 Friday
3 Hazrat Ali’s Birthday 05 February 2023 Sunday
4 Shab-l-Miraj* 18 February 2023 Saturday
5 Mahashivratri 18 February 2023 Saturday
6 Tangpe Chongya 07 March 2023 Tuesday
7 1st Navratra 22 March 2023 Wednesday
8 Ramanavami 30 March 2023 Thursday
9 Baisakhi/Vaisakhi 14 April 2023 Thursday
10 Good Friday 07 April 2023 Friday
11 *Jumat-ul-Vida 21 April 2023 Friday
12 *Shab-l-Qadr 18 April 2023 Tuesday
13 Martyr’s day of Guru Arjun Dev Ji 16 June 2023 Friday
14 Guru Hargobind Singh Ji’s Birthday 05 July 2023 Wednesday
15 Raksha Bandhan 30 August 2023 Wednesday
16 Janmashtami 07 September 2023 Thursday
17 *Friday following Eid-i-Milad-ul-Nabi 29 September 2023 Friday
18 Mahanavami 23 October 2023 Monday

Note: All the *Muslim holidays are subject to change depending on the appearance of the moon.

Ladakh Bank Holidays List 2023

The following holidays will be observed as Public Holidays for Banks during the calendar year 2023 under the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881.

Sl. No. Name of the Holidays Date Day
1 Republic Day 26 January 2023 Thursday
2 Mela Dosmochey (Leh district & Zanskar Sub-division only) 18 February 2023 Saturday
3 Holi 08 March 2023 Wednesday
4 *Nauroz 21 March 2023 Tuesday
5 Yearly closing of Bank 01 April 2023 Saturday
6 Birthday of Dr. B. R. Ambedkar & Mahavir Jayanti 14 April 2023 Friday
7 *Eid-ul-Fitr 22 April 2023 Saturday
8 Buddha Purnima 05 May 2023 Friday
9 *Eid-ul-Azha 29 June 2023 Thursday
10 *Ashoora 29 July 2023 Saturday
11 Independence Day 15 August 2023 Tuesday
12 Chehlum* (Youme-e-Arbaeen) (Kargil District only) 05 September 2023 Tuesday
13 *Eid-i-Milad-ul-Nabi 28 September 2023 Thursday
14 Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday 02 October 2023 Monday
15 Dussehra 24 October 2023 Tuesday
16 Diwali 12 November 2023 Sunday
17 Guru Nanak Dev Ji’s Birthday 27 November 2023 Monday
18 Losar 13 December 2023 Wednesday
19 Christmas Day 25 December 2023 Monday

Note: All the *Muslim holidays are subject to change depending on the appearance of the moon.

Download Official Notification

Ladakh Holidays List 2023 Notification [PDF]

Official Website

You can visit the Official Website for more detail.

Ladakh Holidays FAQs

Q: Total Public Holidays in Ladakh for the Year 2023.

Ans: Total-16

Q: Total Local Holidays in Ladakh for the Year 2023.

Ans: Total-4

Q: Total Restricted Holidays in Ladakh for the Year 2023.

Ans: Total-16

Q: Maximum Restricted Holidays may be avail in Ladakh for the Year 2023.

Ans: Maximum 2 Restricted Holidays may be availed.

Q: Total Bank Holidays in Ladakh for the Year 2023.

Ans: Total-19

Related Posts :

Leave a Comment