Chandigarh Holidays List 2023

Join Telegram Group

Chandigarh Administration, Home Department has notified the Holidays List of Chandigarh Union Territory for the Year 2023 on 16 December 2022 vide Notification No. 6/1/1-IH(I)-2022/19921. Mr. Nitin Kumar Yadav, IAS, Home Secretary, Chandigarh Administration has issued the Notification regarding this.

In this article, we will let you know in detail. So read the article till the end for complete details.

Chandigarh UT Public Holidays List 2023

The Holidays enumerated below shall be observed as Public Holidays in all the Public Offices under the Chandigarh Administration during the calendar year 2023.

  1. All Sundays
  2. All Saturdays
Sr. No. Name of the Holidays Date Day
1 Republic Day 26 January 2023 Thursday
2 Holi 08 March 2023 Wednesday
3 Ram Navami 30 March 2023 Thursday
4 Mahavir Jayanti 04 April 2023 Tuesday
5 Good Friday 07 April 2023 Friday
6 Vaisakhi / Dr. B. R. Ambedkar’s Birthday 14 April 2023 Friday
7 Budha Purnima 05 May 2023 Friday
8 Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid) 29 June 2023 Thursday
9 Independence Day 15 August 2023 Tuesday
10 Janamashtami 07 September 2023 Thursday
11 Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e-Milad (Birthday of Prophet Mohammad) 28 September 2023 Thursday
12 Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday 02 October 2023 Monday
13 Dussehra 24 October 2023 Tuesday
14 Diwali 12 November 2023 Sunday
15 Goverdhan Puja 13 November 2023 Monday
16 Birthday of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji 27 November 2023 Monday
17 Christmas Day 25 December 2023 Monday

Chandigarh UT Restricted Holidays List 2023

Apart from the above holidays, each employee will also be permitted to avail of any two (2) holidays to be chosen by him/her out of the Restricted Holidays mentioned below during the Calendar Year 2023.

Sr. No. Name of the Holidays Date Day
1 Lohri 13 January 2023 Friday
2 Makar Sankranti 14 January 2023 Saturday
3 Basant Panchmi 26 January 2023 Thursday
4 Guru Ravi Das’s Birthday / Hazarat Ali’s Birthday 05 February 2023 Sunday
5 Maha Shivratri 18 February 2023 Saturday
6 Holika Dahan 07 March 2023 Tuesday
7 Chaitra Sukladi / Gudi Padava / Ugadi / Cheti Chand 22 March 2023 Wednesday
8 Easter Sunday 09 April 2023 Sunday
9 Id-ul-Fitr 22 April 2023 Saturday
10 Sant Kabir Jayanti 04 June 2023 Sunday
11 Muharram 29 July 2023 Saturday
12 Vinayaka Chaturthi 20 August 2023 Sunday
13 Onam 29 August 2023 Tuesday
14 Raksha Bandhan 30 August 2023 Wednesday
15 Ganesh Chaturthi 19 September 2023 Tuesday
16 Maharishi Valmiki’s Birthday 28 October 2023 Saturday
17 Karwa Chouth 01 November 2023 Wednesday
18 Bhai Duj 15 November 2023 Wednesday
19 Chhat Puja 19 November 2023 Sunday
20 Guru Teg Bahadur Ji Martyrdom Day 17 December 2023 Sunday
21 Christmas Eve 24 December 2023 Sunday
22 Jor Mela Fatehgarh Sahib 26 December 2023 Tuesday
23 -do- 27 December 2023 Wednesday
24 -do- 28 December 2023 Thursday

Chandigarh UT Bank Holidays List 2023

Under Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881, the following holidays will be observed as public holidays for banks in the Union Territory of Chandigarh during the calendar year 2023.

  1. All Sundays
  2. Every 2nd & 4th Saturday
Sr. No. Name of the Holidays Date Day
1 Republic Day 26 January 2023 Thursday
2 Holi 08 March 2023 Wednesday
3 Ram Navami 30 March 2023 Thursday
4 Annual Closing of Bank Accounts (Bank Holiday) 01 April 2023 Saturday
5 Mahavir Jayanti 04 April 2023 Tuesday
6 Good Friday 07 April 2023 Friday
7 Vaisakhi / Dr. B. R. Ambedkar’s Birthday 14 April 2023 Friday
8 Budha Purnima 05 May 2023 Friday
9 Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid) 29 June 2023 Thursday
10 Independence Day 15 August 2023 Tuesday
11 Janamashtami 07 September 2023 Thursday
12 Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday 02 October 2023 Monday
13 Dussehra 24 October 2023 Tuesday
14 Diwali 12 November 2023 Sunday
15 Birthday of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji 27 November 2023 Monday
16 Christmas Day 25 December 2023 Monday

Download Official Notification

Chandigarh UT Holidays List 2023 Notification [PDF]

Official Website

You may visit the Official Website https://chandigarh.gov.in/home for more details.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Q: How many Public Holidays have been announced in Chandigarh for the year 2023?

Ans: Total – 17

Q: How many Restricted Holidays have been announced in Chandigarh for the year 2023?

Ans: Total – 24

Q: How many Restricted Holidays can be availed?

Ans: Each employee can avail maximum 2 (two) Restricted Holidays out of 24.

Q: How many Public Holidays have been announced for Banks in Chandigarh for the year 2023?

Ans: Total – 16

Related Posts :

Leave a Comment